MAGAZINE

HappyCulture

COOL’HEURES – 27.02.2018


Milton Glaser & Heinz Edelmann

“Color is intuitive,” according to Milton Glaser, a 20th-century graphic artist and designer. Heinz Edelmann, largely inspired by Glaser is also a fan of bright colors, for CASTELBAJAC Paris: Color is a source of life and joy.

The artistic encounter between CASTELBAJAC and these two designers is obvious and expressed graphically in the new Spring / Summer 2018 collection called “Summer of Dreams”.

Born in 1929, Milton Glaser is a New York graphic designer and illustrator best known for his famous logos around the world (including the Brooklyn Lager, I love New York …). In 1954, he founded with Seymour Chwast, Reynold Ruffins and Edward Sorel Push Pin Studios and then, in 1968, create with Clay Felker the New York Magazine.

During the second half of the twentieth century, the influence of this workshop is considerable because at a time when to be young is not an enviable situation, the workshop builds a graphic identity of the youth culture and imposes it on the whole world . Thus, when the Museum of Decorative Arts of the City of Paris inaugurates a major exhibition in 1970, it is the consecration. This exhibition marks a turning point for the Studio, their work is recognized and the large institutions allow them to spread quickly in Europe. Witness this poster against tobacco published in France in 1972.

But in 1974, Milton Glaser left Push Pin Studios, and founded his own company, Milton Glaser Inc., from which was born the famous logo “I Love NY” as well as the famous language of the Rolling Stones and album cover that he brilliantly created for Bob Dylan.

Although the cover has become almost iconic, Bob Dylan and Milton Glaser have never really worked together on this project.
Glaser even said in 2015: “[Dylan] hated the album that was produced, which was the last album he made for Columbia. (…) So he tends to hate everything, and although he never told me that he never liked the poster, in fact, we never discussed it.”

Another great designer, Heinz Edelmann is a German illustrator and designer born in 1934. Much inspired by Milton Glaser the artist does not hesitate to plagiarize without Milton take rigor out of it, preferring to follow the English proverb: “Imitation is the best form of flattery ”

Spotted by his illustrations for the magazine “Twen” Heinz Edelmann is internationally recognized for the artistic direction of the psychedelic animated film “Yellow Submarine” of one of the most influential groups in the world: The Beatles.

Following this success, the artist decided to leave for Amsterdam, where he realized, for the last time with the particular style of “Yellow Submarine”, the illustration of the book by Hans Stempel and Martin Ripkens “Andromedar SR1”.

Milton Glaser and Heinz Edelmann have both innovated in the fields of design, typography and graphics. They allow us to see the world differently, both inspired by the hippie culture and ambient psychedelia of their time.

The Spring / Summer collection “Summer of Dreams” reinterprets the poetic figures of the two artists, and appropriates the bright colors of the time by inviting the person who wear those creations to enter the dreamlike and imaginary world of the House.

MAGAZINE

HappyCulture

COOL’HEURES – 27.02.2018


Milton Glaser & Heinz Edelmann

« La couleur est intuitive » selon Milton Glaser, artiste graphiste et designer du XXe siècle. Heinz Edelmann, largement inspiré par Glaser est lui aussi un adepte des couleurs vives, pour CASTELBAJAC Paris : La couleur est source de vie et de joie.

La rencontre artistique entre CASTELBAJAC et ces 2 designers est évidente et s’exprime graphiquement dans la nouvelle collection Printemps/Eté 2018 baptisée « Summer of Dreams ».

Né en 1929, Milton Glaser est un graphiste-illustrateur New-Yorkais avant tout connu pour être à l’origine de célèbres logos dans le monde entier (Notamment Brooklyn Lager, I love New York…). En 1954, Il fonde avec Seymour Chwast, Reynold Ruffins et Edward Sorel les Push Pin Studios pour ensuite, en 1968, créer avec Clay Felker le New York Magazine.

Durant la seconde partie du XXe siècle, l’influence de cet atelier est considérable car à une époque où être jeune n’est pas une situation enviée, l’atelier construit une identité graphique de la culture juvénile et l’impose dans le monde entier. Ainsi, lorsque le Musée des Arts décoratifs de la Ville de Paris inaugure la grande exposition en 1970, c’est la consécration. Cette exposition marque un tournant pour le Studio, leur travail est reconnu et les grandes institutions leur permettent de se propager rapidement en Europe. En témoigne cette affiche contre le tabac éditée en France en 1972

Mais en 1974, Milton Glaser quitte les Push Pin Studios, et fonde sa propre société, la Milton Glaser Inc., de laquelle est né le célèbre logo « I Love NY » ainsi que la fameuse langue des Rolling Stones et la pochette d’album qu’il a brillamment réalisée pour Bob Dylan.

Bien que la pochette soit devenue presque iconique, Bob Dylan et Milton Glaser n’ont jamais réellement travaillé ensemble sur ce projet.
Glaser déclara même en 2015 : « [Dylan] a détesté l’album qui a été produit, qui était le dernier album qu’il a fait pour Columbia. (…) Il a donc tendance à tout détester, et même s’il ne m’a jamais dit qu’il n’a jamais aimé l’affiche, en fait, nous n’en avons jamais discuté. »

Autre grand designer, Heinz Edelmann est un illustrateur et designer allemand né en 1934. Très largement inspiré par Milton Glaser l’artiste n’hésite pas à le plagier sans que Milton ne lui en tienne rigueur, préférant suivre le proverbe anglais : «Imitation is the best form of flattery » (« L’imitation est le plus grand compliment »).

Repéré par ses illustrations pour le magazine « Twen » Heinz Edelmann est mondialement reconnu pour la direction artistique du film d’animation psychédélique « Yellow Submarine » de l’un des groupes les plus influents du monde : The Beatles.

Suite à ce succès, l’artiste décide de partir pour Amsterdam, où il réalise, pour la dernière fois avec le style particulier de « Yellow Submarine », l’illustration du livre de Hans Stempel et Martin Ripkens « Andromedar SR1 ».

Milton Glaser et Heinz Edelmann ont tous deux innové dans les domaines du design, de la typographie ou encore du graphisme. Ils nous permettent de voir le monde différemment, inspirés tous deux par la culture hippie et le psychédélisme ambiant de leur époque.

La collection Printemps/Eté « Summer of Dreams » réinterprète les figures poétiques des deux artistes, et s’approprie les couleurs vives de l’époque en invitant celui qui les porte à entrer dans le monde onirique et imaginaire de la Maison.